Siblings Of Ilm
ibn Majah scaled Siblings Of Ilm 1

What is the Sunan Ibn Mājah?

Sunan Ibn Mājah is a collection of ḥadīth compiled by Imam Muḥammad bin Yazīd Ibn Mājah al-Qazvīnī (Allah have mercy on him).

It is widely considered to be the sixth of the six canonical collection of hadith (Kutub as-Sittah) of the Sunnah of the Prophet (peace be upon him). It consists of 4341 aḥādīth in 37 books.

Some scholars have also opposed its inclusion into the six canonical collection based on the number of weak – and a few fabricated – narrations found in this collection. In its place, other scholars have suggested the Muwaṭā of Imam Mālik or the Sunan of Imam Dārimī.

This collection is given the title of ‘sunan’ because its structure is based on that of the Fiqh books.

Siblings of 'ilm

5 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Subscribe to Newsletter